The KSA Ted Scharf Humanitarian Award

Awarded to a Kitchener Rangers player for community involvement

Updated Monday January 28, 2019 by Kitchener Sports Association.

PHOTO: It’s hard to fathom how such a big smile and larger-than-life personality comes in such a diminutive frame, but so is the case when it comes to Joseph Garreffa. A fan favourite for his flashy, dynamic play, he’s also admired and respected for the time he spends off the ice. He was always one of the first to volunteer for events in the community, such as the Food Sort Challenge at the Food Bank of Waterloo Region, visits to K-W Habilitation, and multiple stops on the RBC School Tour. More more on the Rangers awards from the 2017/18 season, visit the Rangers website.



The Ted Scharf Humanitarian Award, first presented in 2003, is sponsored by the Kitchener Sports Association and follows the KSA motto of “TRUE SPORTSMEN MAKE GOOD CITIZENS.” This award is in recognition of the Rangers player who contributed most to our community during the regular season. The award is named after alumnus and former Rangers President Ted Scharf, a leader himself in community efforts and involvement.
The  presentation is made at the team's year-end banquet along with all the other individual trophies.
The first winner of the new KSA Ted Scharf Humanitarian Award was David Clarkson.  Pictured with the Memorial Cup are (from the left); George Halkidis (Kitchener Rangers), David Clarkson (Kitchener Ranger recipient of the KSA "Ted Scharf" Humanitarian Award), Al McDonough (Programmed Insurance Borkers) and John Thompson (Chairman of the KSA Scholarship Committee) (Photo taken at KSA's Scholarship dinner)


Humanitarian Award Winners to date have been:

2002/2003 - David Clarkson

2003/2004 - David Clarkson

2004/2005 - Eric Pfligler

2005/2006 - J.M. Rizk

2006/2007 - Kevin Henderson

2007/2008 - Spence Anderson

2008/2009 - Parker Van Buskirk

2009/2010 - John Moore

2010/2011 - Jason Akeson

2011/2012 - Cody Sol

2012/2013 - Domenic Alberga

2013/2014 - Ben Fanelli

2014/2015 - Nick Magyar

2015/2016 - Nick Magyar

2016/2017 - Dylan Di Perna

2017/2018 - Joseph Garreffa


For more on the Rangers year-end awards and players information, visit the Rangers' website..

This article has No Comments.
Be the first to add your comments!
Click the "Post a New Comment" button below.
firstname lastname commented Just Now

You must be a member of the League and logged in to post comments. Login here.