2015 Athlete of the Year Award

Congratulations to Mandy Bujold!

Updated Thursday December 7, 2017 by Kitchener Sports Association.



PHOTO: Mandy won Pan Am gold in Toronto in 2015. Another repeat win, and defence of her title, after her first Pan Am Games championship gold in 2011!


Tuesday, May 17, 2016

At the Edelweiss Sports Bar



Annual Athlete of the Year Awards Dinner

Winner: Mandy Bujold (Women's Boxing)

2007 - 2016 Canadian National Women's BoxingChampion
2006, 2008, 2009, 2011 Ringside World Champion
2007, 2008, 2010 Continental Champion
2011 Pan American Games Champion - Guadalaraja
2013 Canadian Golden Gloves Champion
2014 Commonwealth Games Bronze Medalist - Glasgow
2014 AIBA World Championship, South Korea – Top 8
2015 Pan American Games Champion - Toronto
2016 Americas Continental Olympic Qualifier Champion
2016 Canadian Olympic Team - Rio, Brazil
More on Mandy

The other nominees for this (2015) award were:

Ryan Benesch - Lacrosse 
Alec Elliot – Swimming 
Mike Hoffman – Hockey
Brandon Horn – Fastball
Jamal Murray – Basketball
Sarah Pavan – Volleyball
Leah Robinson – Athletics
Dhane Smith – Lacrosse
Tyler Varga – Football

KSA Awards of Excellence Recipients

Individual Award: Gord Dearborn
Organization award: Civitan Sports Waterloo Region
Team Award: U15A Kitchener Minor Girls Soccer Team

Designated donations: KSA makes a $250 donation to the local sports group designated by each of the nominees ($500 for the Athlete of the Year Award recipient). Donations were made as follows:

  • Ryan Benesch – (lacrosse) – Kitchener Minor Lacrosse Association
  • Mandy Bujold - (boxing) – Waterloo Regional Boxing Academy 
  • Alec Elliot – (swimming) – Region of Waterloo Swim Club
  • Mike Hoffman – ice hockey) – Kitchener Minor Hockey Association (Donna’s Kids)
  • Brandon Horn – (fastpitch softball) – KW Minor Boys Softball Association 
  • Jamal Murray – (basketball)  - Kitchener – KW Youth Basketball & Waterloo Wildhawks
  • Sarah Pavan –(volleyball) – Kitchener -  K-W Predators Volleyball Club
  • Leah Robinson – (track)  – Laurel Creek Track & Field Club
  • Dhane Smith - (lacrosse) – Kitchener Minor Lacrosse Association
  • Tyler Varga – (football) – Twin City Minor Tackle Football Association

and, for the Awards of Excellence Recipients: 

  • Gord Dearborn – Stanley Park Optimist Ball 
  • Civitan Sports (Waterloo Region) – KSA Legacy Fund / K-W Community Foundation  
  • Kitchener Minor Soccer Girls U15A Spirit Team – Kitchener Soccer Club

and, from Athlete of the Year Program, a $250 donation to Camp McGovern

More photos of this event.

This article has No Comments.
Be the first to add your comments!
Click the "Post a New Comment" button below.
firstname lastname commented Just Now

You must be a member of the League and logged in to post comments. Login here.