2014 Athlete of the Year Award

Poje & Weaver

Updated Monday September 18, 2017 by Kitchener Sports Association.




Photo: Bill Poje (Andrew's fathet) is shown accepting the Athlete of the Year Award for 2014 on behalf of Andrew Poje & Kaitlyn Weaver (Ice dancing).




2014 Athlete of the Year Award was presented

Wednesday, May 20, 2015

at the  Wilmot Recreation Complex Community Centre in New Hamburg

The 17th annual Athlete of the Year evening was held as a collaboration between Kitchener Sports Association, the Athlete of the Year Program and Rotary Wilmot.

2014 KW Athlete of the Year

The ice dancing pair:

Andrew Poje & Kaitlyn Weaver

In the International Skating Union, Andrew and Kaitlyn are ranked number one in the world in Ice Dance, or as Anna Trebunskaya said, "...the leading man and leading lady". For this skating duo, 2014 allowed them, once again, to " their dreams and share their passion".

Their competitions throughout the year took them to numerous countries with amazing results at each. Examples include the ISU World Championships in Japan, silver medal; Olympic Winter Games in Russia, 7th place finish; Nebelhorn trophy in Oberstdorf, Germany, gold medal; Skate Canada International in Kelowna, BC, gold medal; NHK Trophy in Japan, gold medal; ISU Grand Prix Final, Barcelona, Spain, gold medal; and a silver medal at the Canadian Tire National Championships in Ottawa.

Career highlights

Congratulations Andrew and Kaitlyn!

Other nominees for the 2014 honours were:
  • Jessica Buttinger (Field Hockey/Athletics)
  • Alec Elliott (Swimming)
  • Katie Harnock (Wheelchair Basketball)
  • Taveena Kum (Boxing)
  • Becky Pavan (Volleyball)
  • Tanner Pearson (Ice Hockey)
  • Silvana Shamuon (Martial Arts)
  • Tyler Varga (Football)
  • Amanda Woodcroft (Field Hockey)

Congratulations to all the nominees. KSA is making donations of $300 to each nominee's designated sports group as follows:

Jessica Buttinger - Waterloo Ravens Minor Hockey Association
Alec Elliott – Region of Waterloo Swim Club
Katie Harnock – Twin City Spinners Wheelchair Basketball
Taveena Kum – Kidsport (Kitchener-Waterloo)
Becky Pavan – K-W Predators Volleyball Club
Tanner Pearson – Kitchener Minor Hockey Association
Andrew Poje/Kaitlyn Weaver – Kitchener-Waterloo Skating Club ($500)
Silvana Shamoun – KSA Legacy Fund
Tyler Varga – Twin City Minor Tackle Football Association
Amanda Woodcroft – Clarke Young Legacy Fund

and, for the Awards of Excellence Recipients:

Wilmot Aquatic Aces Swim Club
New Hamburg Firebirds Hockey Club – New Hamburg Minor Hockey Association
Rob Way – Kitchener-Waterloo Minor Boys Softball Association

A donation was also made to Camp McGovern.

Everyone was invited to come out and celebrate the accomplishments of these athletes. It was quite a celebration! KW Record article on the event

This article has No Comments.
Be the first to add your comments!
Click the "Post a New Comment" button below.
firstname lastname commented Just Now

You must be a member of the League and logged in to post comments. Login here.